Wednesday, January 17, 2018

Attack the Block...2011 cult sci-fi movie..original soundtrack now on vinyl...pre-order bundle available

The premiere vinyl release of Attack The Block original motion picture score and soundtrack from Steven Price, Felix Buxton, and Simon Ratcliffe (and a Basement Jaxx track!). This 2011 Sci-Fi film was the breakout performance for actor John Boyega (Star Wars, Detroit, Pacific Rim 2) as well as Academy Award winning composer Steven Price (Gravity, Suicide Squad, Fury). The story follows a teenage street gang who have to defend themselves from predatory alien invaders. Pressed on "Glow In The Dark" vinyl 2xLP and Glow labels to bring the monsters back onto your very own turntable.

Pre-Order Bundle Link: CLICK HERE

- 2xLP Glow In The Dark Vinyl w/ Glow In The Dark Labels

- Exclusive Written Commentaries from Joe Cornish (Director) and Steven Price (Composer)

- Pre-Order Bundles available with Enamel Pins & a Steel Pint/Tumbler

- Records Ships 1/30

Website Link:

Marty's review: this is one cool soundtrack! Electronic beats with an orchestral score, space sounds galore, themes throughout that are haunting, dramatic and upbeat and all fused together to make this a soundtrack that is listenable apart from the movie itself. The vinyl release will make it a collectible item too.

Friday, January 12, 2018

Suburbia 1997 Film original motion picture by various artists

SubUrbia (1997), directed by Richard Linklatter, is NOT a remake of the 80's movie of the same name. It has NOTHING to do with it. That aside, it is a decent film with an awesome soundtrack. Unlike most rock soundtracks which try to include as many "current" or "hot" artists, SubUrbia tries to capture a feel. Like the characters in the movie who graduated high school back in the early half of the nineties and are still living in it, the soundtrack includes tracks from Sonic Youth, the Butthole Surfers, the Flaming Lips, and others who hit their peaks back in the day too. However, this is not a lame comeback album for anyone. 

From the opening Elastica track (with vocals from Stephen Malkmus (sic) from Pavement) to the simply awesome "Sunday" by Sonic Youth, this album is all killer, no filler. And they even had the guts to end it all with Gene Pitney singing "Town Without Pity". Definitely one of the best soundtracks of the decade, and even though two of the songs aren't even from the nineties, one of the best soundtracks TO the decade.

  1. Unheard Music - Elastica/Stephen Malkmus
  2. Bee-Bee's Song - Sonic Youth
  3. Bullet Proof Cupid - Girls Against Boys
  4. Feather In Your Cap - Beck
  5. Berry Meditation - U.N.K.L.E.
  6. I'm Not Like Everybody Else - Boss Hog
  7. Cult - Skinny Puppy
  8. Does Your Hometown Care? - Superchunk
  9. Sunday - Sonic Youth
  10. Human Cannonball - Butthole Surfers
  11. Tabla In Suburbia - Sonic Youth
  12. Hot Day - The Flaming Lips
  13. Psychic Hearts - Thurston Moore
  14. Town Without Pity - Gene Pitney